Guide

What Clinical Trials Are Available for Acromegaly? 17 Are Open, and 3 Have US Sites for Patients

As of September 23rd, 17 acromegaly studies are recruiting or about to open worldwide, and only 3 have US sites that enroll patients. Here is what each one tests, where the sites are, how well today's treatments worked in their own trials, and what a skeleton from 1783 taught doctors about who should get a genetic test.

Two doctors hold up a sheet of brain MRI scans against a bright window to review them.

In 1783 a young Irishman named Charles Byrne died in London, 7 feet 7 inches tall and terrified of what would happen to his body. He had reportedly arranged to be buried at sea so the anatomists could not have him. It did not work. The surgeon John Hunter is said to have paid Byrne's friends £500 for the corpse, and the skeleton hung in a London museum for more than 2 centuries (Hunterian Museum, 2023).

In 2011, scientists pulled DNA from Byrne's teeth and found the reason he never stopped growing: a mutation in a gene called AIP that drives growth-hormone tumors of the pituitary gland. The same mutation turned up in 4 living families in Northern Ireland, all descended from a common ancestor who lived roughly 57 to 66 generations earlier (Chahal et al., 2011). Byrne had gigantism, the childhood form of the disease. The adult form, when the tumor starts after the bones stop lengthening, is acromegaly, and one of the studies recruiting today is still looking for families like his.

17 Acromegaly Clinical Trials Are Open, and Most of Them Are Not Testing a New Drug

17
Studies open or opening worldwide
12
Recruiting now
3
With US sites for patients
10
US centers in the biggest trial

The 17 figure sounds generous until you read the list. Only 4 of the studies test a new medicine, and 1 of those enrolls healthy young men rather than patients. Many of the rest are observational studies, where researchers follow people on their usual treatment or collect data, scattered across Italy, the Netherlands, Germany, the UK, Turkey, China and Taiwan. 2 are about anesthesia: acromegaly enlarges the tongue and airway, which makes putting in a breathing tube during surgery harder, and researchers in Turkey want better ways to predict and manage that. A group at National Taiwan University Hospital is developing a simple system to recognize the disease earlier, which matters for reasons the next section explains.

For a patient in the United States, the list narrows to 3. Counts come from ClinicalTrials.gov as of September 23, 2026, and they change as sites open, so check the near-you page for today's version.

OXTEND-03 Tests Debio 4126, an Octreotide Injection Given Every 3 Months

Octreotide has treated acromegaly since 1988, and the long-acting version most patients use is a monthly injection. Debiopharm's Debio 4126 is a new formulation of the same drug designed to last 12 weeks, which would cut a year of injections from 12 to 4. The Phase 3 OXTEND-03 trial (NCT06930625) randomized its first patient in late 2025 and plans to enroll about 120 adults across roughly 75 sites in 21 countries (Debiopharm, 2025).

It is built for people whose acromegaly is already controlled on octreotide or lanreotide injections, with normal IGF-1 levels (the blood marker doctors use to track growth hormone). Some participants will get placebo during the blinded phase, and the main question is whether IGF-1 stays in the normal range at week 36. The 10 US sites are Cedars-Sinai in Los Angeles, Northwestern in Chicago, Harvard in Boston, Washington University in St. Louis, Palm Research Center in Las Vegas, NYU in New York, Cleveland Clinic, Ohio State in Columbus, Oregon Health & Science University in Portland and Thomas Jefferson in Philadelphia (ClinicalTrials.gov, 2026).

MAR002 Tests a Growth Hormone Receptor Antibody in Phoenix, Columbus and San Antonio

Marea Therapeutics is taking the other route. Instead of lowering growth hormone, MAR002 is an antibody that blocks the growth hormone receptor, the same target as the daily injection pegvisomant (Somavert), but engineered to last much longer. In its first results in healthy volunteers, a single dose cut IGF-1 by up to 52% at its peak and held it more than 45% lower out to day 43. Data presented in June showed suppression of up to 64%, and Marea says the drug levels could support dosing every 2 weeks to monthly (Marea Therapeutics, 2026). Its patient study, listed on ClinicalTrials.gov as Phase 2 (NCT07641179) and described by the company as the start of a Phase 2/3 program, is recruiting adults 18 to 75 at St. Joseph's Hospital in Phoenix, Endocrinology Associates in Columbus and Consano Clinical Research in San Antonio.

A separate MAR002 study in Tempe, Arizona shows up in acromegaly searches too. It enrolls healthy men aged 18 to 40 and is not open to patients.

The NIH Pituitary Tumor Study in Bethesda

The oldest study on the list, NCT00001595, is run by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development at the NIH Clinical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. Titled "An Investigation of Pituitary Tumors and Related Hypothalamic Disorders," it enrolls people from age 2 to 70 with pituitary tumors, a group that includes growth-hormone tumors, so it is open to children as well as adults. It does not test a specific new drug. The study contact listed on ClinicalTrials.gov can say whether a particular case fits.

Acromegaly Studies Opening Soon or Only Abroad

China: CSPC long-acting octreotide (NCT07623824)
A Phase 3 trial of a new octreotide formulation, not yet recruiting.
UK: PRESTO proton beam trial (NCT07813351)
A Phase 3 comparison of dose-escalated proton beam radiotherapy against standard radiotherapy for hormone-secreting pituitary tumors, not yet recruiting.
UK: FIPA genetics study (NCT00461188)
Barts and The London's study of families with inherited pituitary tumors, the research line that found Byrne's mutation. Recruiting at 3 UK sites.
Germany and UK: Oclaiz observational study (NCT07583563)
Camurus follows patients using its monthly self-injected octreotide, already approved in Europe. Recruiting at 6 sites.
Netherlands: ketogenic diet (NCT06949891)
Erasmus Medical Center in Rotterdam tests whether a ketogenic diet changes acromegaly control.
Italy: 4 studies
Switching from first-generation somatostatin drugs to pasireotide, pasireotide and bone health, hand and foot changes under treatment, and a study of hormones and body fat that has not opened yet.

Why Acromegaly Takes Close to a Decade to Diagnose

Acromegaly changes a face so slowly that the people who see it every day never notice. Rings stop fitting. Shoes go up a size. A jaw moves forward, teeth drift apart, and the explanation offered at each appointment is age, weight or arthritis. The largest registry of patients at diagnosis, 3,173 people from 10 countries in the Liège Acromegaly Survey, put the median delay from first symptoms to diagnosis at 10 years for women and 8 years for men (Petrossians et al., 2017).

Median time from first symptoms to an acromegaly diagnosis
Liège Acromegaly Survey, 3,173 patients diagnosed across 10 countries (Petrossians et al., Endocrine-Related Cancer, 2017). Bars show the median; half of patients waited longer.
Menmedian delay
8 years
The middle half of men waited between 4 and 15 years.
Womenmedian delay
10 years
The middle half of women waited between 4 and 18 years, 2 years longer than men at the median.

By the time the diagnosis comes, the disease has usually been at work for years. In the same registry 71.8% of tumors were already macroadenomas, larger than 1 centimeter, 27.5% of patients had diabetes, 28.8% had high blood pressure and 25.5% had sleep apnea, a figure that rose to 69% at centers that tested everyone with an overnight sleep study. The survey did find delays shrinking over the decades, but patients were also older when they finally got a name for it, with a median age of 45 at diagnosis.

“Scientists estimate that about 3 to 14 of every 100,000 people have been diagnosed as having acromegaly.”

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

The pandemic added a strange twist. In August 2026 doctors at the University of Osaka described a 74-year-old woman referred for diabetes that would not come under control, with an insulin resistance that did not match her weight. A physical exam finally caught changes in the lower half of her face that mask-wearing had concealed, and testing confirmed acromegaly (Sakaue et al., JCEM Case Reports, 2026). The recognition study recruiting in Taiwan is part of the same push to catch the disease before a decade goes by.

Charles Byrne's AIP Gene and Who Should Be Tested for It Today

Harvey Cushing, the pioneering neurosurgeon, examined Byrne's skeleton in 1909 and noted the enlarged bony pocket at the base of the skull where the pituitary gland sits (Chahal et al., 2011). A century later the NEJM team connected that tumor to living people. In January 2023 the museum's trustees announced that Byrne's skeleton would not go back on display when the Hunterian reopened, though the museum kept it for research into acromegaly and gigantism rather than burying it (Hunterian Museum, 2023).

Most acromegaly is not inherited. More than 9 in 10 cases come from a tumor that arises on its own. The genetic cases matter because they strike young and run in families. According to GeneReviews, AIP variants are found in about 10% to 15% of families with inherited pituitary tumors and about 40% of families where every tumor makes growth hormone, and the median age at diagnosis in AIP carriers is 23 (GeneReviews, 2025). The same review recommends suspecting an inherited cause when someone has a pituitary tumor diagnosed before age 18, a growth-hormone macroadenoma before age 30, or more than 1 relative with a pituitary tumor. In those families, relatives can be tested for the specific variant already found.

Acromegaly Treatments in 2026, and How Well Each One Worked in Its Own Trials

Surgery through the nose, called transsphenoidal surgery, comes first for most patients. In experienced hands it puts more than 85% of microadenomas into remission, but only 40% to 50% of macroadenomas (Katznelson et al., Endocrine Society guideline, 2014). With nearly 3 in 4 tumors already large at diagnosis, many patients end up on medication afterward, and the options have multiplied.

Share of patients who reached the trial's target, by acromegaly drug
From each drug's FDA prescribing information, and for Oclaiz from Camurus's Phase 3 results. The target is a normal IGF-1 level, plus a growth hormone threshold for Signifor LAR and Sandostatin LAR. Trials enrolled different patients: switch trials took people already controlled on injections, which is why their comparison groups are above zero. Compare each drug with its own comparison group, not with the drug in the next row.
On the drugComparison group
Palsonify
paltusotine, daily pill, patients switched from injections (58)
Approved 2025
83%
4%
Oclaiz
octreotide monthly self-injection, ACROINNOVA 1 (72)
Decision Dec 18
72.2%
37.5%
Mycapssa
oral octreotide, patients switched from injections (56)
Approved 2020
58%
19%
Sandostatin LAR
octreotide monthly injection, prior responders (122)
Approved 1998
57%
not reported
Palsonify
paltusotine, patients not on drug treatment (111)
Approved 2025
56%
5%
Somatuline Depot
lanreotide, 48-week open-label study (63)
Approved 2007
43%
not reported
Signifor LAR
pasireotide 60 mg, not controlled on other drugs (PAOLA)
Approved 2014
20%
0%

The Signifor number looks low for a reason. PAOLA enrolled only people whose disease stayed uncontrolled on the standard drugs, the group whose acromegaly is hardest to control, and 20% on the 60 mg dose reached both targets against none of those kept on their previous drug (FDA prescribing information). Pegvisomant (Somavert) is missing from the chart because its label reports average IGF-1 drops, 27% to 63% depending on the daily dose against 4% on placebo, instead of the share of patients reaching normal. It works on the receptor rather than the tumor, which makes it the usual next step when somatostatin drugs fall short.

Oclaiz Faces an FDA Decision on December 18th After 2 Complete Response Letters

Camurus's Oclaiz (CAM2029) is octreotide in a monthly depot that patients inject under the skin themselves, closer to an insulin pen than a trip to the clinic. Europe approved it as Oczyesa on June 30, 2025. The FDA has turned it down twice, most recently on June 10, 2026. That letter cited findings from an inspection at a third-party manufacturing site and raised no concerns about efficacy or safety (Camurus, 2026). The FDA accepted the resubmission on July 17 and set a new action date of December 18, 2026. The decision page will carry the outcome.

Acromegaly from Byrne's skeleton to the next FDA decision
Approval dates from Drugs@FDA; history from the Hunterian Museum and the 2011 NEJM study; pipeline dates from Camurus and Debiopharm.
  1. 1783
    Charles Byrne dies in London
    His skeleton goes to John Hunter's collection, reportedly against his wish to be buried at sea.
  2. 1886
    Pierre Marie names acromegaly
    The French neurologist describes the disease and gives it the Greek name for enlarged extremities.
  3. 1909
    Harvey Cushing studies the skeleton
    He notes an enlarged pituitary fossa, the bony pocket that holds the pituitary gland.
  4. Nov 25, 1998
    Sandostatin LAR approved
    Monthly octreotide injection, building on the short-acting drug approved in 1988.
  5. Mar 25, 2003
    Somavert (pegvisomant) approved
    The first drug that blocks the growth hormone receptor instead of the tumor.
  6. Aug 30, 2007
    Somatuline Depot (lanreotide) approved
    A second monthly somatostatin injection.
  7. 2011
    Byrne's AIP mutation found
    DNA from his teeth links him to 4 living Northern Irish families.
  8. Dec 15, 2014
    Signifor LAR (pasireotide) approved
    For patients not controlled on the first-generation drugs.
  9. Jun 26, 2020
    Mycapssa approved
    The first oral octreotide, for patients already controlled on injections.
  10. Jan 11, 2023
    Byrne's skeleton leaves public display
    Kept by the Hunterian for research into acromegaly and gigantism.
  11. Sep 25, 2025
    Palsonify (paltusotine) approved
    The first once-daily pill for acromegaly.
  12. Late 2025
    OXTEND-03 randomizes its first patient
    Debio 4126, an octreotide injection every 3 months.
  13. Jun 10, 2026
    Second FDA rejection for Oclaiz
    Manufacturing inspection findings, not efficacy or safety.
  14. Dec 18, 2026
    FDA decision on Oclaiz
    Monthly self-injected octreotide. Track it on the decision page.

What Acromegaly Patients Say Treatment Still Misses

In January 2021 the patient group Acromegaly Community hosted a patient-focused drug development meeting, a format built to let the FDA hear directly from people living with a disease. 304 people attended, 128 of them patients, and a team of endocrinologists later published the results, with Acromegaly Community's Jill Sisco among the authors (Shah et al., Frontiers in Endocrinology, 2025).

What the lab measures
IGF-1 and growth hormone
Every approval in the chart above rests on a blood test. Normal IGF-1 is the goal of treatment and the main endpoint of the pivotal trials.
What patients ranked as their heaviest burden
Joints and fatigue
90% of patients polled at the meeting had joint problems and 65% ranked them among their top 3 burdens. 92% had fatigue or muscle weakness. Neither is reversed by a normal lab result alone.

Anxiety or depression affected 75% of patients who answered. About half said the disease had cut into their social life, and more than a third said it had affected school or work. One patient's comment, recorded in the paper, is the kind that does not show up in an IGF-1 report.

“I ended up losing my job that I adored.”

Patient comment, Acromegaly Community meeting, published in Frontiers in Endocrinology (Shah et al., 2025)

That gap is worth raising at every visit. A clinical trial is one way to get closer monitoring and a newer drug; the patient group, Acromegaly Community, is another way to find people who have lived through the same slow years. For the practical side of moving from monthly shots to a pill, the Palsonify one-year post covers the switch in detail.

Get the next Acromegaly update by email

One email when Acromegaly trials change or an FDA decision lands. No newsletter, no spam.

We never share your email. Unsubscribe anytime.

Frequently Asked Questions About Acromegaly Clinical Trials

What clinical trials are available for acromegaly?

As of September 23, 2026, 17 acromegaly studies are recruiting or about to open on ClinicalTrials.gov, 12 of them recruiting now. Drug trials include OXTEND-03 of Debio 4126, a 3-month octreotide injection, and a Phase 2 study of MAR002, a long-acting growth hormone receptor antibody. The rest are mostly observational studies in Europe and Asia, plus a UK genetics study of families with inherited pituitary tumors.

Are there acromegaly clinical trials in the United States?

Yes. 3 studies have US sites that enroll people with acromegaly: the Debio 4126 OXTEND-03 trial at 10 centers including Cedars-Sinai, Northwestern, Harvard, Cleveland Clinic and NYU; the MAR002 Phase 2 study in Phoenix, Columbus and San Antonio; and an NIH pituitary tumor study in Bethesda, Maryland. A fourth US study, in Tempe, Arizona, enrolls only healthy volunteers.

What is Debio 4126?

Debio 4126 is a long-acting form of octreotide from Debiopharm, injected every 12 weeks instead of every 4, which would cut a year of injections from 12 to 4. Its Phase 3 trial, OXTEND-03 (NCT06930625), enrolls adults whose acromegaly is already controlled on octreotide or lanreotide.

What is MAR002 for acromegaly?

MAR002 is an antibody from Marea Therapeutics that blocks the growth hormone receptor, the same target as pegvisomant, but designed to last far longer. In healthy volunteers one dose lowered IGF-1 by up to 52% and kept it more than 45% lower for 43 days, with suppression of up to 64% in later data. Its patient study (NCT07641179) is recruiting in Arizona, Ohio and Texas.

When will the FDA decide on Oclaiz?

The FDA's target action date for Oclaiz, Camurus's monthly self-injected octreotide depot, is December 18, 2026. The FDA has declined it twice, most recently on June 10, 2026, over findings at a third-party manufacturing site, without raising efficacy or safety concerns. It is already approved in Europe as Oczyesa.

How long does it take to diagnose acromegaly?

In the Liège Acromegaly Survey of 3,173 patients, the median time from first symptoms to diagnosis was 10 years for women and 8 years for men. The changes are gradual enough that family members and doctors often miss them, and most tumors are larger than 1 centimeter by the time they are found.

Who should get genetic testing for acromegaly?

Most acromegaly is not inherited. GeneReviews recommends considering an inherited cause, such as an AIP gene variant, when a pituitary tumor is diagnosed before age 18, a growth-hormone macroadenoma is found before age 30, or more than 1 family member has a pituitary tumor. Relatives in those families can then be tested for the specific variant.

Find acromegaly trials near you
Enter your ZIP code to rank every open acromegaly study by distance to its closest site, with the sites on a map.
Open acromegaly trials near me

Sources

Statement on the skeleton of Charles Byrne from the Board of Trustees of the Hunterian Collection
Hunterian Museum, Royal College of Surgeons of England · 2023-01-11
AIP Mutation in Pituitary Adenomas in the 18th Century and Today
New England Journal of Medicine · 2011-01-06
AIP Familial Isolated Pituitary Adenomas
GeneReviews, National Library of Medicine · 2025-11-20
Acromegaly at diagnosis in 3173 patients from the Liège Acromegaly Survey (LAS) Database
Endocrine-Related Cancer · 2017
Delayed diagnosis of acromegaly when lower facial features were obscured by masks during the COVID-19 pandemic
JCEM Case Reports · 2026-08-28
Acromegaly: An Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guideline
Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism · 2014-11
Patient perspectives on acromegaly disease burden: insights from a community meeting
Frontiers in Endocrinology · 2025-02-03
Redefining Acromegaly Care: First Patient Randomized in Debiopharm's Phase III OXTEND-03 Trial of 3-Month Debio 4126 Treatment
Debiopharm · 2025-12-04
OXTEND-03: A Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of Debio 4126 in Participants With Acromegaly Previously Treated With Somatostatin Analogs (NCT06930625)
ClinicalTrials.gov
Marea Therapeutics Presents Phase 1 Data Supporting Potential Best-in-Disease Profile of MAR002 for the Treatment of Acromegaly at ENDO 2026
Marea Therapeutics via Business Wire · 2026-06-14
A Study to Evaluate MAR002 for Acromegaly (NCT07641179)
ClinicalTrials.gov
An Investigation of Pituitary Tumors and Related Hypothalamic Disorders (NCT00001595)
ClinicalTrials.gov
Camurus NDA resubmission for CAM2029 in acromegaly accepted for review by the US FDA
Camurus · 2026-07-17
Camurus provides regulatory update on the US NDA for CAM2029 (Oclaiz) in acromegaly
Camurus · 2026-06-10
Camurus octreotide SC depot (CAM2029) achieves superior treatment response compared to placebo in Phase 3 acromegaly trial
Camurus · 2023
Acromegaly
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Palsonify (paltusotine) prescribing information
U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed
Mycapssa (octreotide) capsules prescribing information
U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed
Signifor LAR (pasireotide) prescribing information
U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed
Sandostatin LAR Depot (octreotide) prescribing information
U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed
Somatuline Depot (lanreotide) prescribing information
U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed
Somavert (pegvisomant) prescribing information
U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed
TaggedGuideAcromegalyClinical TrialsFDA

More on Trial Friend